What are T Levels?

What are T Levels and how they will benefit you in your career development.

T Levels

T Levels are a form of further education through courses of which when complete you will receive the equivalent of 3 A-levels.

T Levels are a two year course, consisting of 1,800 hours of which part is an industrial placement, and were first introduced in September 2020 and developed in collaboration with both employers and training providers to enable the correct training is provided to meet the needs of students before they enter the world of work, Apprenticeship Jobs or another form of further education.

During your T Level you will split the time between classroom based training and on the job training which would be the equivalent of a minimum of 45 days during the period of your T-Level.


What subject areas are available for T Levels?

T Levels are very new, but will take off just as Traineeships have which is another form of “On the Job” training.


At present T Level subject areas are very limited to a select few industries such as:

  • Construction
  • Digital Business Services
  • Science
  • Healthcare


Over time new T Level subject areas will be added:

  • Accounting
  • Agriculture
  • Catering/Hospitality
  • Human Resources
  • Manufacturing
  • Media
  • Legal


All available T Level subject areas will be made available by 2023.

As we have now passed September 2020 T Levels are live however you will only be able to apply for a T Level through a selected college, school or provider across England. You can find a full list of T Level providers HERE and the subject areas they cover.

The work placement.

Every T-Level requires you to do a work placement for a minimum of 45 days to hone in on the technical and practical skills you would require to develop them for the occupational subject you are training in.

You maybe required to attend your work placement in either a block session or day release which ever the employer requires you to do.

How would I benefit from a T Level?

When you complete your T Level you will receive a nationally recognised certificate with your achieved grades. The grading structure for T Levels is similar to those of BTEC qualifications and the equivalent of A Level qualifications and will be graded as such Pass, Merit or Distinction.

You certificate will outline the following grades:

• T Level overall grade shown as Pass, Merit or Distinction

• Occupational specialism grading shown as Pass, Merit or Distinction

• Core component grades (graded A* - E)

• Math and English grades

If you do not pass all required elements of your T Level you will be awarded a statement of achievements.

What next after I complete my T Level?

Once you have completed and passed your T Level you have three options to consider either enter the world of work, start an apprenticeship or progress your further education by options of going to university.

If you decide to opt for university you can use your T Level qualification, as long as you achieve an overall pass you will receive UCAS tariff points as detailed below:

Grade  UCAS Points 

Distinction*  168 

Distinction  144 

Merit  120 

Pass (C or above)  96 

Pass (D or E)  72